Posted by: shamanron | December 7, 2011

Merry Christmas! or Happy Holidays! or Whatever!

OK, almost everyone I know knows that I’m Pagan, and those that don’t, well, now you know.

But even as a Pagan, I am sooo very tired of hearing and reading about the bickering back and forth about

which greeting is correct! As a child growing up in the sixties and seventies, we didn’t have the media coverage that we have grown so accustomed to now. There was no internet, world wide web. There was print, radio and television, and TV only had a handful of channels then (And remember the rotary phone?) So unless you were a TV or movie star, or a politician running for a major office, your worries, concerns and comments were heard only by your immediate family or local community.

Now days, if you have a gripe about something, the whole world can know about it within minutes!

And that’s how it starts. What I want to know is this: What person, with their huge ego running their life, with nothing better to do but complain about a greeting, started this mess?

Again, I am Pagan. That means that I don’t practice an “organized” religion. It also means that I don’t practice Christianity. But that is my choice. I don’t hate Christians. Some of my friends are Christian as well as my brothers and sisters, and I love them dearly. I just happen to disagree with most Christian philosophies and schools of thought.

But again, that’s my choice.

But all this ridiculous hub bub over which greeting is correct has got to end!

Listen people…if you are Christian, and someone tells you “Happy Holidays”, then do your self a favor and respect that persons rights to believe what ever form of Spirituality or religion he or she chooses! And the same applies if some one says to you “Merry Christmas!”. Respect that persons rights to believe in Christianity, no matter what form it is. No matter what the greeting, at least another human being is showing decency by showing a friendly greeting.

Now if you are a Christian, and you have a problem with someone saying “Happy Holidays!” to you, then the problem is probably not the other person. It’s most likely you. Look deep within yourself and check the example you might be making.

If you are not Christian, and the greeting “Merry Christmas” offends you, then maybe you have some personal issues to work out with a therapist or a counselor (I am available).

After all, IT IS ONLY A GREETING, one human to another, wishing them happiness, wishing you happiness!

If you have a problem with someone wishing you happiness (Scrooge) then I suggest you either stay home, turn off the radio, TV and internet, and read some Charles Dickens. Also make an appointment with a mental therapist.

Folks, with all the other issues we could be trying to resolve, that are so much more important than how you receive a greeting, let’s put this one away. If you really have a need to be nit-picky, try going to your local city counsel meeting. Get involved with REAL issues and make change there.

Having said all that,

I would like to wish all of my christian friends and family a very merry Christmas. 🙂

To all my non-Christian friends, I wish you merry Yule, and happy holidays. 🙂

And I wish ALL of you Brightest Blessings, Love and Light

Ron “ShamanRon” Wheeler

Leave a Reply

Categories

